Skip to content
Osintpro

Maltego Pricing and Maltego Cost: Every Plan, the Per-Seat Math and the Enterprise Price

Maltego publishes more of its pricing than most of the category, and still leaves the number that matters to a team for you to work out. Here is every plan as Maltego lists it, what the credits pay for, and what three or five analysts actually cost before you talk to sales.

  • Published
  • 8 min read
  • Pricing
  • Osintpro analyst notes

Maltego pricing has four annual plans. Basic is free with 200 credits a month. Entry costs EUR 3,000 a year with 10,000 credits a month. Professional costs EUR 7,500 a year with 20,000 or 40,000 credits a month, for up to five users billed per seat. Enterprise is quoted through sales for teams of five or more. There is no monthly plan on the pricing page.

That paragraph is what most pricing roundups stop at. The problem for a buyer is the phrase "billed per seat". Read literally, EUR 7,500 is what one analyst costs, and a team of four on Professional is a EUR 30,000 annual commitment before anyone has opened a graph. Everything below comes from Maltego's own pricing page, and the arithmetic is shown so you can check it against your quote.

Maltego pricing by plan

Basic

Published price
EUR 0
Credits a month
200, or 1,000 on Basic+
Users
Not stated
What it adds
Maltego Graph Community Edition, limited Maltego Search, limited Cases and Admin

Entry

Published price
EUR 3,000 a year
Credits a month
10,000
Users
Not stated
What it adds
Everything in Basic+, plus Hunchly for web capture. Available only to buyers who pass vetting

Professional

Published price
EUR 7,500 a year
Credits a month
20,000 (Standard) or 40,000 (Advanced)
Users
Up to 5, billed per seat
What it adds
Unlimited Maltego Graph and Search across all datasets, full Cases and Admin

Enterprise

Published price
Contact sales
Credits a month
Set to your team's needs
Users
5 or more
What it adds
Everything in Professional Advanced, with Maltego Monitor and Maltego Evidence as options

Two details on that page change who can buy what. Entry is marked as available only to customers who pass Maltego's vetting, and buyers who do not pass are offered an Entry Lite plan instead. And the Professional price shown is for the Standard variant. The Advanced variant, with double the credits, is listed without a separate published figure.

How much does Maltego cost for a team?

Maltego Professional costs EUR 7,500 for each seat per year if the per-seat billing applies to the listed price, which is the plain reading of the page. The plan caps at five users, so the most a team can spend on Professional before moving to Enterprise is EUR 37,500 a year. Confirm the seat terms on your quote, because this is where budgets go wrong.

1 analyst

Plan that fits
Entry or Professional
Annual cost at EUR 7,500 a seat
EUR 3,000 (Entry) or EUR 7,500
Annual cost if one fee covered the plan
EUR 3,000 or EUR 7,500

3 analysts

Plan that fits
Professional
Annual cost at EUR 7,500 a seat
EUR 22,500
Annual cost if one fee covered the plan
EUR 7,500

5 analysts

Plan that fits
Professional
Annual cost at EUR 7,500 a seat
EUR 37,500
Annual cost if one fee covered the plan
EUR 7,500

6 or more

Plan that fits
Enterprise
Annual cost at EUR 7,500 a seat
Quoted by sales
Annual cost if one fee covered the plan
Quoted by sales

The gap between the last two columns is a factor of five at the top of the plan, so ask the question directly and get the answer in writing. Maltego's pricing page has a USD toggle, and a US buyer should take the dollar figure from the quote rather than converting the euro list price, because exchange rates move between budget approval and invoice.

What Maltego credits pay for

Maltego credits are spent querying Maltego Data Pass inside Maltego Graph and Maltego Search. Data Pass is the bundle of commercial data Maltego resells out of the box: social media profiles, breached credentials, email lookups, domain intelligence, phone numbers and other digital identifiers from vetted providers. The allowance resets monthly, and the pricing page does not publish a price for extra credits.

This is the part to model before you sign. A person-of-interest case that pivots through email, phone and social identifiers spends credits on every lookup, and the count depends on what the first lookup returns. An allowance of 20,000 a month is generous for one analyst and can be thin for five analysts sharing heavy caseloads. Ask sales three things: whether the allowance is per seat or per plan, what a top-up costs, and what happens to a case in progress when the month's credits run out.

The license is rarely the biggest line.

For teams whose output is a written report, the hours spent turning a graph into a document usually cost more than the software. A reviewer who spends three hours writing up each vendor, at a loaded rate of $85 an hour, spends $255 of labor per case. Twenty cases a month is $5,100, which is more than a month of Professional for the whole five-seat team.

Is Maltego free?

Maltego is free on its Basic plan, which includes Maltego Graph Community Edition and 200 credits a month for commercial data. Investigators who register with a government or organizational email can apply for Basic+, which Maltego reviews case by case and which adds 1,000 credits and access to Maltego Search. Neither is meant for sustained professional casework.

The free tier is a sensible way to learn the interface. It is not a sensible way to evaluate whether the paid plans fit a team, because the thing you are paying for is mostly the data allowance and the unlimited Graph, and both are exactly what the free tier restricts.

Maltego enterprise price

Maltego does not publish an Enterprise price. The plan is for teams of five or more, includes everything in Professional Advanced, sets the credit allowance to the team's needs, and adds optional Maltego Monitor for real-time social media monitoring and Maltego Evidence for preserving social media content with chain of custody. Training and integration support are part of the Enterprise conversation.

Because Monitor and Evidence are listed as optional, two Enterprise quotes for teams of the same size can differ a lot. When you compare an Enterprise quote with a stack of Professional seats, compare like for like: the same credit allowance, the same modules and the same support terms.

Maltego cost compared with a report-first platform

Maltego and a case-first tool overlap less than their shared category suggests, so this is a price comparison for one specific buyer: a team whose work ends in a written report about an organization, a vendor or an acquisition target, rather than a graph of people and accounts.

Listed price

Maltego Professional
EUR 7,500 a year, up to 5 users billed per seat
Osintpro Team
$449 a month or $4,488 a year for 5 seats

Billing

Maltego Professional
Annual
Osintpro Team
Monthly or annual

Usage unit

Maltego Professional
20,000 or 40,000 data credits a month
Osintpro Team
150 cases a month

Subjects

Maltego Professional
People, accounts, infrastructure, organizations
Osintpro Team
Domains and organizations only, never a person

Native output

Maltego Professional
A link chart you write up yourself
Osintpro Team
A PDF or DOCX report, each finding with its record, endpoint and UTC time

Where it wins

Maltego Professional
Link analysis, person-of-interest work, breadth of commercial data
Osintpro Team
Repeatable vendor and deal screening that a non-analyst can run and a reviewer can check

If your investigations are about people, social accounts or how a network of identities connects, Maltego is the right tool at this price and a report-first platform is not a substitute, because it will not look up a person at all. If the graph was only ever a route to a vendor file or a deal memo, the Maltego alternative for report-first investigations lays out what changes when the report is the output.

Is Maltego worth the price?

Maltego is worth the price when link analysis is the core of the job: fraud rings, threat actor infrastructure, person-of-interest investigations and anything where the answer is a network. It is harder to justify when the job is a repeated set of questions about companies, because you pay for a graph canvas and commercial identity data you do not use, then write the report by hand.

A practical test is to look at what your last ten cases ended in. If most ended in a graph that someone else acted on, buy Maltego. If most ended in a document with a signature on it, price the write-up hours first and compare the tools against that number, not against each other.

Five questions to ask before you sign a Maltego quote

  1. Is the listed Professional price per seat or per plan? The page says billed per seat. Get the multiplied total in writing.
  2. Is the credit allowance per seat or shared? This decides whether five analysts get 20,000 credits each or 20,000 between them.
  3. What does a credit top-up cost? No top-up price is published, and running out mid-case is the most common budget surprise.
  4. Will we pass vetting for Entry? If not, you are quoted Entry Lite, and you should see what it drops before assuming Entry's terms.
  5. What is the renewal price? Annual software renewals drift. Ask for a capped increase at signing, while you still have leverage.

That last one is worth a system rather than a calendar reminder. Seat-based annual contracts are easy to forget until the invoice lands, and teams that track SaaS renewals and seat counts alongside cloud spend catch unused seats before auto-renewal instead of after it.

Maltego pricing, summed up

Basic is free with 200 credits a month. Entry is EUR 3,000 a year with 10,000 credits, for vetted buyers. Professional is EUR 7,500 a year, billed per seat for up to five users, which means EUR 22,500 for three analysts and EUR 37,500 for five on the literal reading. Enterprise is quoted by sales, with Monitor and Evidence as options. Credits pay for Data Pass queries, and top-up prices are not published.

If you are pricing tools because a vendor review, an insurer questionnaire or an acquisition needs a sourced report on a company, start with the cost of producing that report rather than the license. Our plans are published, start at $149 a month for one seat, and the best OSINT tools comparison sets Maltego, Shodan, Censys and SpiderFoot side by side if you are still building the shortlist.

See it produce one

Every habit in this post is what the sweep does automatically.

Declare a scope, run a domain, and read findings that already carry the raw record, the source endpoint and the UTC retrieval time. It takes a domain and never a person.

Run one scoped sweep and see what a sourced finding looks like.

The demo is free, it takes a domain and never a person, and it produces the same evidence chain the paid report does.

See how a case runs
  • Passive collection only, from public sources.
  • A domain, never a person. There is no input for one.
  • Your case data stays yours. No card required.

Scope in, evidence out. The demo needs no card.